Perform, Inform, Interact: Explore

String Quartet based in Seattle, Washington




The Skyros Quartet brings a bright and inventive style to the performance stage. Located in the Seattle area, they can be seen performing, teaching, and leading community events in their new hometown. In addition to their work in the Pacific Northwest, Skyros has concertized across the US, Canada, and China.

Beethoven to Britten, Sibelius to Shostakovich - the sky is the limit for the Seattle based Skyros Quartet... known for their innovative and interactive approach to classical music both old and new.
— Second Inversion



Introspective Odyssey

Follow three composers on a journey through early 20th-century Europe, reflecting on various experiences including the life of a student, the rush of bullfighting, and the folklore of Scandinavia on the debut Navona Records release by the Skyros Quartet, INTROSPECTIVE ODYSSEY.

The quartet plays with enthusiasm and precision.
— Audiophile Audition

Written while he was a student, the Three Divertimenti by Benjamin Britten (1913-1976) creates a dazzling and witty display of youthful enthusiasm. Weaving a narrative tone poem set in Spain, Joaquín Turina (1882-1949) presents an exotic showpiece in La Oración del Torero (The Prayer of the Bullfighter), with a distinct flamenco flair through the idiom of French post-impressionism. Subtitled "Voces Intimae" ("Intimate Voices"), Jean Sibelius (1865-1957) wrote these words on the manuscript over three dark and hushed chords in the third movement, marking the center of String Quartet in D minor, Op. 56. The composer combines post-romanticism, 20th-century modernism, and Scandinavian folksongs influenced by the Kalevala, the national epic poem of Karelia and Finland. The captivating and emotive interpretations by the Skyros Quartet show them as a versatile, fastidious, and passionate group, versed in performing a number of musical styles and traditions.


PARMA Recordings | Navona Records
Release Date: August 14, 2015

Skyros takes to each piece with a ravishing, articulate, sonically appealing approach.
— Gapplegate Classical